Fellows and Organizations

The inaugural Keseb Democracy Fellowship cohort is composed of 12 democracy entrepreneurs and their organizations from Brazil, South Africa, and the United States. 

Selected from a pool of over 300 across the three countries, the 12 Fellows represent a diverse group of visionary democracy entrepreneurs – 75% come from historically marginalized communities and 75% are women. 

The Fellows lead innovative and impactful pro-democracy organizations that address the threats of authoritarianism as well as promote effective and inclusive political and civic participation in their respective contexts. Specifically, they are employing strategies in one or more of Keseb’s current priority pillars: (1) Promoting free, fair, and trusted elections; (2) Building diverse leadership pipeline for representative government; (3) Combatting mis-and-disinformation; and (4) Cultivating informed, empowered, and engaged citizens and voters.  

The Inaugural Democracy Fellowship Cohort

Dr. Jeanine Abrams McLean

Fair Count

Áurea Carolina de Freitas e Silva


Tessa Dooms

Rivonia Circle

Farbod Faraji

Protect Democracy

Tshepo Fokane

Alliance for Rural Democracy

Gabriel Marmentini


Lindiwe Mazibuko


Koketso Moeti


Flávia Pellegrino

Pacto pela Democracia

Tainah Pereira

Mulheres Negras Decidem

Erin Vilardi

Vote Run Lead

Julian Walker


Currently, Keseb’s fellowship selection process is by invitation only and we are not accepting applications. However, we invite democracy entrepreneurs and their organizations to fill out an interest form if they would like to be considered in future cycles.